Two or more users may attempt to edit a wiki page at the same time. When a user attempts to post a new revision, he/she is given the opportunity to manually merge changes from revisions that were posted while he/she was editing the wiki page. Alternatively, he/she can simply create a new revision of the wiki page with only his/her edits or cancel his/her edits in favor of keeping the revision created by another user.
Handling wiki editing conflict gracefully
Users Jones and Smith have both opened a wiki page called "New Office Priorities." Jones completes her edits first and saves them. Moments later, Smith attempts to save his edits but receives a notification that the wiki page has been modified by Jones since he opened it for editing.
Smith has two options: He can overwrite Jones' edits or view the edits before making a decision.
Telligent Community has already saved user Jones' edits as a revision, recording her edits as the most recent version of the page. If Smith clicks Overwrite, he will create the next version of the page, which will contain his edits but will not the edits that Jones recently made.
However, Smith will probably want to view Jones' edits before saving his own to ensure that important data is not lost, so he clicks View Changes. Telligent Community displays a dialog window with a comparison between his original version (i.e., the version he started his edits from) and the version that Jones subsequently posted. Additions are highlighted in green and deletions have strike-through highlights in red.
Smith can add Jones' edits to the wiki page based on what he sees in the dialog window or just post a new revision, overwriting Jones' edits. In this case, Smith elects to overwrite Jones' edits. His view of the wiki page will be the most recent version of the page and will immediately show his changes.
Jones will not see the updates made by Smith until she refreshes the wiki page or leaves it and returns.