By default, community members can customize their dashboards, group owners can customize any group and group application pages and blog authors can customize their blog pages (as long as the group owner doesn't overwrite his/her changes). However, an administrator can restrict inclusion or removal of widgets and their content.
In Telligent Community, it is possible to lock and unlock widgets for editing. All other tabs are locked and are not editable by users.
As an admin, if you lock a widget using the lock icon, the icon will be greyed out in a non-Administrative user's Edit Page mode and he/she cannot remove the widget. If you leave the widget unlocked, the icon is accessible to users in Edit Page mode, and they can remove the widget.
Locking is only supported on default pages (that is, all instances of a page, such as all blog pages). Locking widgets on a contextual page (for example, for one blog only) means that it affects only that page. It doesn't affect any other pages or keep you from editing the single blog page in any way. In this case, locking and saving contextually for only one blog would have no effect.
To lock an individual widget:
Enter Edit Page mode.
Locate the desired widget already on the page, or add the widget.
The widget banner will display the lock and edit options.
- Click the opened lock icon. The icon will change to a closed lock.