In Telligent Enterprise 3.0, the Customize and Enter Edit Mode buttons have been combined into the Edit Page button. The Exit Edit Mode and Save buttons have been combined into the Save Page button.

Edit Page mode gives you control over any page without having to first navigate to that page, which is particularly helpful when you want to edit many pages at one time or want to edit pages that are hard to reach.

After entering Edit Page mode, you have additional navigation and saving options. Pages and editing options are contextual to the page you are editing: An individual's home page displays different options from those available in a group's home page.

You can control access to widget customization site-wide for administrators, on user dashboards, on group home pages for group owners, and on blog pages for blog authors.

Select which page and settings to edit

Sitewide, group, blog, and user pages are the four contexts that drive the listings in the Edit Page mode drop-down lists.

Select a page drop-down (on the left side)

When you click  , a dialog for choosing the page and version to edit appears. The page selection drop-down list is context-sensitive. For example, if you are on the site home page, you will only see "common-home" in the drop-down. The drop-down lists the pages available for editing from that context. The example in the screen shot below shows pages available to edit within the context of the group.

After you select the page, choose which version of the page you want to modify:

  • Modified for this <context, such as group or blog>: <context name> - Modify the page for only this context (e.g., Sample group or Sample blog), but not the other groups on the site.
  • Default for all groups - Make this page change for all group (e.g., all group home pages or all blogs).

Edit page (on the right side)

Click  to launch the page editing functionality. The editing mode appears.

From here, you can change the page layout; add/remove widgets; import or export a page layout; edit the headers and footers; save the page, or revert the page layout.

Import or export a page layout (in the middle)

Export a layout

Click the Import/export button to export your page layout to a file. As an example, you may want to do this before saving the page as a new default.

In the export dialog, click Export.

Select Save file in the dialog, and click OK.The file saves as an XML file.

Import a layout

Click  . Select Import tab, and browse to the layout file in the dialog.

Click Import.

Save the page (on the right side)

Click  . The Save Page dialog appears, prompting you to either save for this <context> (such as group or blog), or to save as the new default.

Save for [context]

Saving a page contextually does not change the default.

Selecting this option means you are saving for the current context where you're editing - the site, current group, current user, or current application (blog, forum, media gallery, wiki). After saving for the context, you will see a Revert to default button in the menu bar.

  

When you are done customizing the page, click Save page.

Save as the new default page version

The Save as default option changes the default layout of that particular type of page. You have the option to save this default for the context but allow modified versions to retain their changes, or to overwrite changes with the new default.

  • If you select only Save as the new default version without selecting the check box, the page will be the basic layout page for the context (such as blogs).
  • If you additionally select the Apply the new default to <context> check box, any changes you have made on any other similar context pages (such as blogs) will be overwritten by the choices you've made here.

When you are done customizing the page, click Save page.

Revert to the page default

After you make your selections, you can click  to return to your the version last saved as the default layout. (If you don't like this version, you can import a previously saved default.)