The reporting forum is no longer created when a new site is created. This is because the system now automatically treats abusive content on the basis of its abusiveness score. The score is determined automatically.
Groups define the areas of interest for your community and allow you to control the type of content and the access to that content for community members. You can define a group hierarchy with any number of groups and levels of subgroups. Groups can be one of five different types:
- Joinless - Membership is not tracked and permissions are managed using site-level roles.
- Public open - Everyone can see the group and all content and can join without approval.
- Public closed - Everyone can see the group and all content, but must apply to join and be approved to become members.
- Private listed - Only members can see the group and all content. Everyone can see just the group name and description must apply to join and be approved to become members.
- Private unlisted - Only members know that the group exists and can see group and all content. All others must be invited to join and approved to become members.
We provide two groups by default:
||Required group for all community sites as it provides the overarching parent group to which all other groups belong. You cannot delete this group.
||Group that the deleted posts from all forums are moved to. By default, the administrative user is group owner so is the only one who can see and access this group and its content. As an administrator, you may want to add any other administrators and/or moderators as members of this group as well so that deleted and reported posts are managed effectively.
Groups can include zero or more of each application type (blog, wiki, forum, file gallery), depending on the requirements for each group.
When it is first set up, the site has three users:
A non-interactive user account used by the Job Scheduler. You can't sign on as this user.
||The sign-on account which has the Administrators role. This user is created when the site is created. It is possible to sign on as this user.
||An account which does not have an external email address or username. By default, this user can read site content and download media gallery files. It may also be assigned the content generated by deleted users.
This section contains the following subsection:
- Groups - Create a group structure by specifying its type (joinless, public open, etc.), and then using it to control user access to applications.